Leeds, Liverpool managers shortlisted for FIFA men’s coach of the year

Leeds United manager Marcelo Bielsa is poised for an extraordinary salary increase after securing promotion to the Premier League.

Leeds United manager Marcelo Bielsa and Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp have been named to FIFA’s five-time men’s coach of the year list.

The governing body of world football has released the list of finalists for its seven individual awards to be presented at The Best FIFA Football Awards on December 17.

Bielsa was a striking inclusion in the shortlist of five candidates for FIFA’s Best Male Coach, with the Championship-winning coach named alongside Hansi Flick, Julen Lopetegui, Zinedine Zidane and Liverpool manager Jurgen Klopp.

England’s future head coach Sarina Wiegman has been shortlisted for the female coach award alongside Emma Hayes, who has three of her Chelsea players shortlisted for player of the year.

Joining Ji So-yun, Sam Kerr and Pernille Harder on the short list are England international Manchester City Lucy Bronze and Arsenal forward Vivianne Miedema.

Manchester City’s Ellie Roebuck and Chelsea’s Ann-Katrin Berger are nominated for Best FIFA Female Goalkeeper, while Alisson Becker is the only Premier League hitter shortlisted for the men’s equivalent.

There are four Liverpool players in the running for the FIFA Best Male Player award, with Sadio Mane, Mohamed Salah and Virgil Van Dijk alongside summer signing Thiago Alcantara.

Manchester City star Kevin De Bruyne is also shortlisted alongside Cristiano Ronaldo, Robert Lewandowski, Kylian Mbappé, Lionel Messi, Neymar and Sergio Ramos.

The Puskas Award for the best goal of 2020 includes Tottenham forward Son Heung-min’s superb solo shot against Burnley last December.

Jordan Flores’ scandalous volley for Dundalk against Shamrock Rovers in the Irish League is also shortlisted, along with Sophie Ingle’s effort for Chelsea against Arsenal and a fine goal for Manchester City’s Caroline Weir against Manchester United.

Get more stories like this at Twitter