FIFA invites 19 African referees for 2023 Women’s World Cup

FIFA invites 19 African referees for 2023 Women’s World Cup

The respite has come the way of the Nigerian Football Federation (NFF), as in the coming days it will receive $ 500,000 (approximately 200 million Naira) from FIFA as a palliative for the coronavirus pandemic.

Nineteen female referees from Africa have been selected to participate in the FIFA Women’s World Cup in 2023, which will be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand, during a period reserved on the FIFA International Women’s Match Calendar between July 10 and on August 20, 2023.

Candidates will join the “Road to AUS / NZL” project, a program that will determine the best to operate during the next competition. They come from 15 CAF Member Associations and their names are as follows:


Salima Mukansanga (Rwanda),
Lidya Tafesse Abebe (Ethiopia),
Maria Rivet (Mauricio),
Bouchra Karboubi (Morocco),
Ndidi Patience Madu (Nigeria),
Vincentia Amedome (Togo),
Fatou Thioune (Senegal),
Dorsaf Ganouati (Tunisia)

Assistant referees

Mary Njoroge (Kenya),
Lidwine Rakotozafinoro (Madagascar),
Bernadettar Kwimbira (Malawi),
Queency Victoire (Mauritius),
Diana Chikotesha (Zambia),
Mimisen Iyorhe (Nigeria),
Fatiha Jermoumi (Morocco),
Fanta Kone (Mali),
Carine Atezambong Fomo (Cameroon),
Yara Atef Said Abdelfattah (Egypt)

The 2023 tournament will see the Women’s World Cup expanded from 24 to 32 teams.

The United States are the defending champions entering the competition, having won the previous two tournaments in 2015 and 2019.

Get more stories like this at Twitter

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.