Governors Ganduje, Sule receive 2020 Peace Awards

Governors Ganduje, Sule receive 2020 Peace Awards

Governor of Kano State, Abdullahi Umaru Ganduje

Governor Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano State and Governor Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa State received the 2020 International Peace Achievers Awards on Friday night.

The award ceremony for the ninth annual event was held at the Nigerian Air Force Conference Center.

The journalists note that Kogi Governor Yahaya Bello, Alhaji Abubakar Mallami, Federation Attorney General and Minister of Justice, and Alhaji Manir Dan’iya, Deputy Governor of Sokoto State, were also named among the members of the list of people who they achieved peace.

Ganduje and Sule received the “Governor of the Year in Peace and Security” award, while Kogi State won the “Conflict Resolution, Intercommunity and Youth Advocacy” award.

Amb. Kingsley Amafibe, Chairman of the Planning Committee, said the award recognizes individuals who have contributed greatly to the construction of the nation, through programs related to peace and defense, job creation and promotion of national unity. .

According to him, the annual ceremony recognizes worthy personalities from across the country, who have contributed to the peace and stability of Africa and Nigeria in particular.

He said that the governors as heads of security for their states were recognized for maintaining peace and stability in their respective states amid the security challenges facing the nation.

“They are awarded the award for their leadership roles and selfless service in peacebuilding and their commitment to programs that promote peace, youth and economic development.

“The Peace Achievers International Awards are a private initiative of the Peace Ambassador Agency to recognize individuals and organizations in Africa who have demonstrated a strong commitment to serving their communities.

“We are building a movement that involves all sectors of society that promotes peace and unity in Africa.

“There is no better time than now to honor prominent personalities like you, so that together we can build a global partnership for peace,” he said.

Amafibe explained that while there were many patriotic men and women who have made significant contributions to the peacebuilding project in Nigeria, it was imperative to honor the “outstanding”.

Other winners of this year’s Peace Achiever Awards included Alhaji Abdullahi Amegwa Agbo III, Keana’s Osana, who received the ‘Traditional Ruler of the Year’ award.

Dr. Ummarun Kwabo, the Honorable Mas’ud Bashir, were among those who received the Award for Excellence in Humanitarian Service, while Dr. Anthony Ezekwugo received the Award for Excellence in Business Development.

Other recipients of the award are Fatima Mohammed, Alhaji Ibrahim Ibrahim, Mr. Adewale Aladejana, Dr. Abelagi Tersoo, Peters Higgins, Amb. Kingsley Azonobi, Dr. Gloria Praise and Amb. Opuama Akegbede, among others.

Nigerian singer Ace Styl Plus won the ‘Artist of the Year’ award, and comic book star Abisi Emmanuel took the Comedy of the Year award.

Get more stories like this at Twitter