Ex-EPL referee gives verdict on Arsenal penalty decision in 3-1 win over Chelsea

Former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher has said that Chelsea cannot have any complaints about the penalty decision in their 3-1 loss to Arsenal on Boxing Day.

Michael Oliver conceded the penalty in the first half after Recce James dropped Kieran Tierney inside the box.

Subsequent replays showed little contact between the two players.

However, a VAR check did not annul the decision and Alexandre Lacazette made it 1-0.

Granit Xhaka doubled Arsenal’s lead from a free kick, before Bukayo Saka’s cross shot made it 3-0.

Gallagher believes Chelsea should not feel aggrieved by Arsenal’s penalty in the first half.

“What I would say is that the guy who has the best view is Michael Oliver, he has the view where he can see the players come together,” Gallagher told Premier League Productions.

“He gave it instantly. I think what you need to remember is that when it comes to VAR, VAR is not there to decide if you made the right decision or the wrong decision, you have to decide if it is a clear and obvious mistake, and I would suggest no if the referee gives it. , so on that basis he sticks to the decision in the field